Author Topic: Reports on Jacqueline Deveille's murmors in Ieper  (Read 620 times)

Giulia Aldobrandeschi

• General group
  • Honour: 1
Reports on Jacqueline Deveille's murmors in Ieper
« on: 14 May, 2016, 09:27:21 PM »
Giulia was waiting the new day before to embark for Telemark from Ostfriesland. The day was almost over when she received a messenger from Ieper, in the far south of Flanders.

She questioningly looked at the messenger  and said - What do you have to refer me so urgent?
The messenger bowed again and started to tell, in one breath - My Queen, some commoners reported to have seen a foreign lady speaking as in delirium in the market square of Ieper as being in front of a Court. I'm just a simple apprentice of Ieper guard captain, but I felt the duty to write down her speeches. In Brugge the Chamberlain told me you was moving when the Army toward Ostsfriesland, so I tried to reach you as soon as possible, changing the horse at several taverns.... 

Giulia nodded - Please, tell me.

Promptly, the young man handed a scroll - I wrote down a transcription. I was so luck to learn to write thanks to Lord Hospain, the Academy director...

Giulia nodded again smiling and motioning to a guard to take care of the messenger, she replied - Very well done, Sir... ?

The young man promptly answered - My name is Jansens Jan and bowed leaving the room.

Giulia looked at him thoughtfully away, it was the name of an old judge in Brugge, now passed away, and she wondered if he could be a relative. Then she opened the scroll and started to read.